Elephant Grounds Cafe, Wing Fung Street

My neighbour E moved to Hong Kong six months ago. We went on a nice tour of the market together and decided to catch up for coffee again a few days later. She wanted to know where she could purchase a knife sharpener and I said I would take her. 

We went to King Tak Hong for the knife sharpener (they have a fancy new knife cabinet on the second floor) and I bought 4 stainless steel ladles for my mother. 

It was a beautiful day and I suggested we head over to Star Street and have a drink at Elephant Grounds Cafe. I had been meaning to go try it for the longest time. It was supposed to be open by the time Art Basel came round earlier in the year but was delayed.

I’ve been there” E said endorsing my choice, “the coffee is excellent.”


We took our seats at the bar counter and I parked my pram on the ledge. I noticed that there was a bowl of water for people who bring their pooches, but there weren’t any dogs around so I assumed it’d be ok.

The menu is whimsically designed both in terms of looks and the actual items for consumption. 

Here’s the first menu I saw.


Well, it’s the first time I’ve seen any cafe do a list of hot chocolates. Usually it’s just one type of hot chocolate, take it or leave it.

The breakfast menu is reasonably varied, something for every tastebud.


And here’s the drinks list.


Not bad eh. 

I had to see the breakfast selection at the front counter. 


Mmm… yum. A few sweet choices and croissants. I decided to have a hot chocolate and a simple butter croissant.


I have to say it was delicious. The croissant was light and fluffy with just the right amount of crisp. The hot chocolate was the right temperature and not too sweet. 

E had a coffee and a hot chocolate. From where we were sitting, we had a great view of how the coffee is lovingly and patiently brewed.

E told me that her coffee was delicious. It must’ve been because she finished it off well before I was done with my hot chocolate. Unless it was just me talking too much šŸ˜‰

Find them here:

Map to Elephant Grounds Cafe
Leave a Reply

