The Techtonics perform at Lee Tung Avenue

I just happened to be at Lee Tung Avenue at lunchtime on Tuesday and saw some tech guys setting up amplifiers and microphones. A young lady approached me and offered me a booklet about the a Capella festival that’s on this week. She gestured to a page towards the center of the booklet and showed me the write up on The Techtonics. “They’ll perform at 1pm” she said. It was 12.28 so I figured that I’d hang around and see what it’s all about.

I’ve always enjoyed a Capella and didn’t need any convincing.

The all male Techtonics group did their vocal warm ups at a corner and tested the microphones with some beatbox rhythms and a short song to get the crowd to stick around. It was effective. Many people gathered around the center courtyard area, occupying the benches and leaning against the walls near the Seoul bistro and Omotesando cafe entrances.


It was thoroughly enjoyable. They sang six songs animatedly and got the crowd excited. I felt like dancing along but was too busy recording it on video like everyone else! Well, I did do a little bit of dancing.

Here’s a short clip.


They are performing in various spots in Hong Kong, check out the HK a capella Facebook page if you want to see them live.


Ok ok. I am a fan :). Here’s another short clip of Edric, their leader singing Adele’s Hello. 


It was just fantastic guys. Really enjoyed it. Looking forward to your final performance on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

